Awards Evening 2017 | News | Welcome to Ysgol Bryn Elian
Bryn Elian News

Awards Evening 2017

blogEntryTopperOn the evening of September 12th, we held our 21st Annual Awards Evening which is a special event rewarding pupils for academic success and progress, across all three Key Stages. There are also special awards for Pupil of the Year, Head Girl and Head Boy.

This year Michael Lewis was awarded Pupil of the Year, his teachers describing him as “An exceptional young man who has an exemplary work ethic. He is intelligent, perceptive and has been highly motivated since the very start of his time here. Michael has shown his maturity throughout his school journey and has always been focused on his work, more recently gaining fantastic GCSE results. Michael throws himself wholeheartedly into his work and into extra -curricular activities such as the Duke of Edinburgh award. He is an excellent example to his contemporaries not only in terms of his excellent work but also in terms of his commitment to the life of the school in general and also very bravely performed at the Record of Achievement night, he was fantastic!Congratulations Michael”.

Bill Dunne in Year 13 was awarded the Gwilym Griffiths shield for Head Boy. Teachers said of Bill; “Bill is one of those ‘once met never forgotten’ characters! He is a young man with a big heart and a wicked sense of humour. Never has a prospective Head Boy speech ever garnered so many laughs! But, he took the role seriously. He dispatched his duties as head boy with aplomb and diligence. He sought to support and help others quietly behind the scenes - which is very in keeping with his general attitude to life. He is not a young man to sing his own praise or to be the ‘loud man’. He has a quiet confidence. Bill was a singular head boy, and I wish him every success in the future!”

Headteacher Mrs Eithne Hughes said, “This has been a most enjoyable evening, as school staff and governors have joined with parents to celebrate the significant successes and achievements of our wonderful pupils. Congratulations to all our Award winners.”